Inauguration of Srikanth Memorial T-20 Cricket Tournament

Port Blair, Nov 09: The Season-VII of Dr. B. Srikanth Memorial T-20 Cricket Tournament was inaugurated on 05th November 2022 by Chief Guest, Mr. Yash Chowdhary, IAS, and Deputy Commissioner Car Nicobar in presence of Mr.  Manjeet, IPS, SP Nicobar District, Mr.  John Levy, Vice-Chairman, Tribal Council and Mr. Anand Vardhan Mishra, Assistant Commissioner, Car Nicobar. 

Tournament is being organized by Nicobar District Police in coordination with the Merchant Association of Car Nicobar. Nicobar District Police has been organizing this tournament for the last 7 years in the memory of former Superintendent of Police, Nicobar District, Late Dr. B. Srikanth, IPS. 

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Guest emphasized the importance of games and announced the formal start of season VII of the tournament.

A total of 21 teams from various villages, clubs and departments of Nicobar District are participating this year in the tournament. The inaugural match was played between team Mus-A and Perka-A, which was won by team Mus-A of Car Nicobar by 44runs.

SP (Nicobar) elaborated the achievements and contribution of Late Dr. B. Srikanth, IPS to the Nicobar District and Nicobar Police during his tenure. Later he concluded the tournament with the vote of thanks and a promise to conduct many more such tournaments in the future as a part of Community Policing initiative to productively engage the youth of Nicobar in sports and to encourage sportsmanship.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.