State Telecom Disaster Coordination Committee Meeting Held At Port Blair

Port Blair, Mar 06: The meeting of the State Telecom Disaster Coordination Committee (STDCC) for Andaman and Nicobar UT was held on 06th March 2023, in Port Blair under the Chairmanship of Mr. K P Mohan, Deputy Director-General, Andaman DoT, WB LSA, Port Blair.

In the meeting, he emphasized on the role of the Department of Telecommunications (DoT) as a Lead agency for the Emergency Support function related to the provision and restoration of telecommunication services in the event of disaster in coordination with all TSPs, SDMA and NDRF.

Preparedness level of all the telecom service provider for handling any disaster like event was reviewed and all TSPs were instructed to be ready in line with the Department of Telecommunication’s Standard operating procedure (SOP) issued by DOT and ensure necessary support and coordination with DOT, State Disaster management and NDRF.

All the participants have actively participated in the discussions and exchanged their views and requirements in the event of the occurrence of any type of disaster in ANI.

Mr. GandamalaPaparao, ADET, DoT, A&N welcomed all participants. The meeting was attended by Mr. Raja Ram Mohan CGM BSNL, Mr. S.C. KUMAWAT, Sub Inspector NDRF and representative of TSPs (BSNL/Airtel/Vodafone/RJIL) Mr. Arun Das Nodal Officer M/s Bharti Airtel Ltd.,Mr. S.S. Jagannathan, DGM CFA, BSNL, Mr. Suman Pradhan, Nodal officer, Reliance Jio Infocomm Ltd and Mr. Ashwini Thakkar, Nodal officer VIL.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks by Mr. K.P. Mohan, DDG, DOT Port Blair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.