Cricket Tournament Honoring Veer Savarkar

Port Blair, Mar 27: Maharashtra Mandal, Port Blair supported to organized the Veer Savarkar cricket tournament as a tribute to Veer Savarkarji. The tournament managed and organized by two active youngstar of Chouldari village namely Mr. Prashant and Amir Khan, tournament inaugurated on 22nd January 2023 at Bachra Pahard, Choldari, and concluded on 26th March 2023.

The final match of the tournament was played between Diamand Star and Yugant. In the scoreboard, Dimand Star scored 186-9, and Yugant team’ score was 152-8. Dimand Star won the match by 34 runs, becoming the champions of the Veer Savarkar cricket tournament.

The Chief Guest of the final tournament was Mr. Gorakh Nath Patil, President of Maharashtra Mandal. He spoke about Veer Savarkar’s biography and his time spent in the Andaman cellular jail. Mr. Vijay Kumar Sadhu, Vice President of Maharashtra Mandal, was the Guest of Honor. Other dignitaries present on the occasion were Mrs. Pramila Kumari, Zilaprishad member and Ex-zila Parishad Adhakshya, Mr. Devanand Pathak, SHO, PS Orrabraj, Mrs. Tapashi Saha, Gram Panchat Pradhan Choldari, Mrs. Chaitali, Panchayat Samiti Member, Chouldari, Mr. S. Pandian, Sarpanch, and Mr. Gopal Ch Biswas of Nehru Yuva Kendra, Port Blair.

The winning team, Dimand Star, and the runners-up team, Yugant, were awarded winner and runner-up trophies, respectively. The Chief Guest and Other guests also presented individual mementos to the teams. The player of the tournament award went to Jaidev (YUGANT). Mr. Sagar(HCB) received the Best Batsman award, Mr. Raunak(CYC) received the Best Bowler award, and Mr. Yousuf(ASG) was awarded the Best Catch award. The Man of the Match title went to Hasan (Diamond Star), who was also honored with a memento. The tournament concluded with a vote of thanks proposed by Mrs. Tapashi Saha, Gram Panchat Pradhan, Choldari.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.